Haines, Chilkoot Inlet

Haines is a small community on the Chilkat Peninsula at the north end of Lynn Canal between Chilkat Inlet and Chilkoot Inlet. The area was called Dtehshuh or "end of the trail" by the Tlingit that used a trail to portage canoes across the peninsula from the Chilkat River. The North West Trading Company had an agent here in 1879, and in 1881 a mission was built and named for Francina E. Haines who was the local sponsor. Several canneries were built near the mission to support the local salmon fishery.

From 1898 to 1899 the Klondike Gold Rush began to significantly change the community. Haines became a supply center for the Dalton Trail from Chilkat Inlet that offered an alternative route to the Yukon for prospectors. Fort William H. Seward was built in 1898 and by 1909 the installation had grown to cover more than 4,000 acres (1,600 ha) with 85 wood framed buildings. It provided a policing presence for gold miners, and a military presence during negotiations over the nearby international border with Canada. It was formally renamed Chilkoot Barracks in 1922, honoring the local Chilkoot people and the Chilkoot Trail used during the gold rush. 

By 1972 all the canneries had closed due to declining fish stocks, however, commercial fishing remains an important part of the local economy, along with logging and milling timber. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Haines and Chilkoot Inlet.