Kaguyak was an Alutiiq village at the head Kaguyak Bay on the Aliulik Peninsula of Kodiak Island. The earthquake of March 27 1964 generated a series of tsunamis that virtually destroyed the village and it was abandoned. It is now used as a summer fish camp. An older village site now called Old Kaguyak was once located a few miles south. This is where some of the first Kodiak Islanders encountered Russian fur traders. A smallpox epidemic in Old Kaguyak caused people to move the village to Kaguyak Bay in the 1860's. This new village was originally named "Alsentia" on Russian charts, and in 1880 it was reported as "Kaguiak". The new village had over 200 people, many houses and several stores. The population declined rapidly with the decimation of the sea otter population, and by the early twentieth century, the village had less than 100 residents. After the tsunamis of 1964, many residents of Kaguyak settled permanently in the nearby communities of Old Harbor and Akhiok. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore the village site and Kaguyak Bay.