Cape Perpetua is a scenic wonder of the Oregon coast, drawing visitors to its spouting horn, devil’s churn, and dramatic views. This is where Captain James Cook made landfall on March 6, 1778 after crossing the Pacific from Hawaii during his third and final voyage of discovery. He named the steep and rock bound promontory Cape Perpetua, having first sighted it on March 7, St. Perpetua Day.
Cleft of the Rock Light is a privately owned lighthouse located under the shadow of the cape, and provides an aid to navigation for vessels sailing the coast between Coos Bay and Yaquina Bay. It was built in 1976 by former Tillamook Rock Light keeper and lighthouse historian James A. Gibbs. Cleft of the Rock Light is designed after the Fiddle Reef Light, which operated from 1898 to 1958 in Oak Bay, a suburb of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore more of Cape Perpetua.