Tillamook Rock Light is a deactivated lighthouse located approximately 1.2 miles (1.9 km) offshore from Tillamook Head, and 20 miles (32 km) south of the Columbia River, situated on less than an acre of basalt rock. The light was first activated on January 21, 1881, after 575 days of construction, and was assigned with four keepers. Duty at Tillamook Light was considered difficult due to the isolation from civilization, and the severe weather conditions. The light was nicknamed "Terrible Tilly", for the stormy conditions at its location. Frequent storm damage and difficult access contributed to this being the most expensive U.S. lighthouse to operate. It was decommissioned in 1957 and sold to private owners. Read more here and here. See a short video here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Tillamook Rock.