Sanak Island is the easternmost of the Aleutian Islands and was inhabited by the Aleut for nearly 7000 years. The Aleut name is Sannakh Island, which was shortened to Sanak by the U.S. Post Office Department in 1919 when it established a post office at Sanak village. The European settlement of Sanak Island began with the sea otter fur trade, followed by cod and salmon fishing, fox farming, and cattle ranching through waves of Russian, American, and Scandinavian influence. Sanak Island was abandoned in the 1970s and although uninhabited today, the island is managed as a land trust for the native descendants. The island is surrounded by reefs that are a navigational hazard. On June 11, 1913, the Steamship Yukon, bound from Goodnews Bay on the Kuskokwim River to Seattle, stranded in a fog on the northwest end of Sanak Island, south side of the Alaska Peninsula, and became a total loss. The Revenue Cutter Tahoma rescued the 3 passengers and 42 crew and conveyed them to Unalaska. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Yukon Reef and Sanak Island.