A large salmon cannery was built at Funter Bay, Alaska in 1902 and operated until 1931. During WWII, the run-down buildings were re-occupied by Pribilof Island natives who were forced from their homes in the Bering Sea by the US government. A lack of maintenance eventually led to the collapse of most of the large structures. Local residents salvaged some of the wood for cabins and by the 1990s most of the remaining cannery structures were razed. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Funter Bay.