Eldred Rock Light, Lynn Canal

Eldred Rock Light was activated on June 1, 1906, making it the last of the twelve lighthouses constructed in Alaska between 1902 and 1906. This is now a popular dive site on the wreckage of the Clara Nevada, formerly the U.S. Coast and Geodetic survey ship Hassler. On February 5th, 1898, near the peak of the Alaskan gold rush, the three-masted passenger ship was loaded with over 800 pounds of gold, an illegal shipment of dynamite, and some one hundred passengers. The ship had just embarked on a multi-day journey from Skagway to Seattle and encountered hurricane-force winds howling down narrow Lynn Canal. Just over thirty miles into the southward voyage, the ship ran aground at Eldred Rock and exploded in flames. Whether the loss of the Clara Nevada was an accident or an act of sabotage may never be known, but no trace of the gold has ever been found. Learn more about the Eldred Rock Light here, and about the shipwreck here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore more of Eldred Island and Lynn Canal.