The Fisgard Island Light Station was the first lighthouse to be built on the west coast of Canada. In 1843, fifty years after Captain Vancouver sailed through the Strait of Georgia, the Hudson Bay Company built Fort Victoria, named after Queen Victoria. The Puget Sound Agricultural Company, a branch of the Hudson Bay Company, started developing large farms near Fort Victoria, and by the time Vancouver Island was established as a British colony in 1849, Esquimalt Harbour had become a major port and the home of the Esquimalt Royal Navy Dockyard.
The lighthouse was built in 1860 to guide vessels through the entrance of Esquimalt Harbour. It was named after HMS Fisgard, a 46-gun British Navy frigate that spent time here. The light station was manned until 1929. The causeway between Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Island was built in 1951 as a military barrier to prevent torpedo attacks on vessels anchored in Esquimalt Harbour. Today Esquimalt Harbour is the home port to Canadian Maritime Forces Pacific and Joint Task Force Pacific Headquarters. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Fisgard Lighthouse and Esquimalt Harbour.