The community of Latouche is now a ghost town in Prince William Sound, Alaska. A series of copper prospects were staked on Latouche Island in the late 1890s, and the Beatson Copper Mine, in the northwest section of the island, started shipping ore in 1904. In 1915, with war needs greatly boosting demand (and prices), the mine was taken over by the Kennecott Corporation. At its peak period in 1917-1918, there were about 300 people working at the Beatson and almost 4,000 people on the island, most in the town of Latouche close to the Beatson mine.The mine produced over 182 million pounds of copper from 1904-1930. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Latouche Island.