Port William was a herring saltery prior to 1930 operated by S. Sklaroff and Sons. In 1930, it began salmon canning operations as the Port William Packing Company. After a poor season, the facility sat idle until 1934 when the Washington Fish and Oyster Company leased the cannery. In 1935, Washington Fish and Oyster was purchased at a U.S. Marshall's sale and in 1940, a cold-storage facility was installed. In 1941, Coho salmon, herring, and halibut were frozen there. After the 1976 season, with the advent of fish processing ships, the cannery was sold. Today, Port William operates as the Port William Wilderness Lodge. Remnants of the nearly 100 year old cannery remain and one building houses the Lodge's fish and game cleaning facilities. On February 28, 2018, the dock was damaged during a storm resulting in an oil spill. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Port William and Shuyak Island.