Taku Cannery, Taku Harbor

Taku Harbor is a small embayment and community on the eastern shore of Stephens Passage, about 22 miles (35 km) southeast of Juneau, Alaska. Taku Harbor is named after the Taku people, a geographic subdivision of the Tlingit. 

In 1824, overlapping land claims between Russian and British interests resulted in The Treaty of Saint Petersburg in 1825. In 1834, the British Hudson’s Bay Company tried to establish a post on the Stikine River, one of the terms allows by the treaty, but the effort was blocked by the Russian-American Company. Late in 1838, this dispute was settled resulting in the guarantee of rights for the Hudson’s Bay Company to establish posts, hunt, and trade furs along the coast in exchange for providing the Russian-American Company with food and supplies. Taking advantage of these terms, the Hudson’s Bay Company built Fort Durham in Taku Harbor and occupied it from 1840-1843.

On the eastern shore of Taku Harbor is a small community and the remains of a salmon cannery. The San Juan Fishing & Packing Company established the cannery in 1901. In 1907, John L. Carlson leased the cannery and cold storage plant, then owned by the Pacific Cold Storage Company. Carlson used gillnet fishermen in Taku Inlet and operated 15 fish traps, allowing him to buy the plant and increase capacity each year until 1918, when he sold the facility to Libby, McNeill and Libby. Libby operated the cannery until 1947. Read more here and here. Download or open the CoastView app and explore more of Taku Harbor here: